Outreachy Blog #1: Introduce Yourself

Outreachy Blog #1: Introduce Yourself

This is the first blog of Outreachy Internship blogs.

·

3 min read

Holla! I'm Harshitha. I am particularly born and raised in Hyderabad, the commercial hub of IT Industries and one of the liveliest cities in India, if you don't know you should probably add the city to your bucket list of cities to visit, there is never a dull moment in Hyderabad. Nonetheless, I’m the first child in my family: Yes! If you're reading this and you're the first child, I understand the burden to be a success and not be a bad example to our siblings if any, but we got this right? I am sure we do. I'm currently pursuing my bachelors in India with a major in Biotechnology. Unfortunately, I’m not a writer, so if my writing style comes off, kindly pardon me, this is my first time😉.

So, the day was May 4, 2023, at 4 pm UTC. I received a mail from Outreachy confirming that I was among the interns selected for the May-August Cohort working for xarray on the project "Document examples of using various xarray methods" together with my mentor Thomas Nicholas. Trust me when I say I couldn't believe my eyes, I was not expecting it. But I’m super grateful and honored to be among those considered and I’m thankful to my mentor who believed in me, and gave me a chance. Now in case you're wondering what is Outreachy, what project I will be working on and the organization. Here you go 👇

What is Outreachy?

Outreachy is a diversity initiative of Software Freedom Conservancy. It is a paid, remote internship program. Outreachy's goal is to support people from groups underrepresented in Tech. They help newcomers to free software and open source make their first contributions. Outreachy provides internships to work open source. People apply from all around the world. Interns work remotely and are not required to move. Interns are paid a stipend for the three-month internship. Interns work with experienced mentors from open-source communities. Outreachy internship projects may include programming, user experience, documentation, illustration, graphical design, or data science. Interns often find employment after their internship with Outreachy sponsors or in jobs that use the skills they learned during their internship.

My Core Values and Motivation

To be honest this is the toughest one for me to find about the top inline core values which builds the foundation of my character. There are so many core values that represent what I treasure most in my life. But I would like to pen down three of them:

Joyfulness

I love living moment by moment instead of thinking about the past and the future. Because I believe, life is a series of present moments. So, I love doing things that bring joy to me.

Growth

I don’t want to be stuck in the same place for so long. Growth is an important treasure of my life. Even if the growth of my life fluctuates, I believe in myself that I will make progress sooner. I’m okay even if it’s fluctuating in a negative direction because falling always helps me to stand out the next time.

This brings me to the end of this article; I know it's a long text. But thanks for sticking out till the end. Hope you check back next time. ✌️